Commercial Litigation and Liability

Boom in D&O disputes and arbitration proceedings

While the processing of the financial crisis reached a peak with the Heta litigation affair, D&O liability disputes are unabatedly on the rise. Cartels, dubious dividend stripping deals, failed transactions: the question of liability is quick to be posed, singling out (former) managers and even advisors. The greatest example of this right now is the VW emissions scandal, added to which are reams of product recalls and investor claims – recently even from the state of Bavaria.

Furthermore, an increasing number of companies are handling cartel damages. This is reflected, for instance, in the huge number of companies taking action against the sugar cartel. A new EU directive should make future claims easier here. Firms are also looking to expand their arbitration practices. This area continues to flourish despite coming under immense criticism, particularly in terms of investment protection proceedings connected to the discussion surrounding the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP).

Cartel damages reviving practices, boutiques on the rise

The most notable practices are involved in the VW scandal in one way or another. It is one of the largest product liability cases in German history. Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer has been assigned the task of handling this issue, also beyond the German border.

When it comes to cartel damages, firms with strong antitrust practices are often at the fore. Anyone already advising on cartel cases is usually assigned to the defense in subsequent lawsuits. Such firms include Freshfields, Gleiss Lutz and Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton. New players are cropping up in instructions for plaintiffs, such as US firm Hausfeld, which has now opened its first office in Germany.

In terms of arbitration, the Hamburg firm Hanefeld is viewed by many as a role model and is now classed as one of the most visible German outfits, even on the global stage. Borris Hennecke Kneisel from Cologne and Dr. Philipp K. Wagner from Berlin are further examples of the boutique trend, while market leaders Freshfields, CMS Hasche Sigle and Baker & McKenzie still pack a punch with their large teams that often have greater leverage.

 


 

As many firms do, we use the term “dispute resolution” to describe the work of lawyers which concerns not only litigation and arbitration, but also extrajudicial conflict settlement. The main focus of such practice groups tends to lie in corporate and commercial law as well as capital markets law (often termed corporate & commercial litigation), which also forms the focus of the subchapters ?commercial litigation and liability and ?corporate litigation. Depending on the firm, lawyers from a range of practices with a strong litigation element, such as product liability, also belong to these practice groups. At many firms, distribution law is integrated into the litigation departments; this field, however, is dealt with in a separate chapter ( ?distribution, trade and logistics). All firms also represent clients in judicial proceedings.

This applies to such litigation-intensive fields as ?employment, ?trademarks and unfair competition, ?insurance and liability, ?public procurement, ?antitrust, and ?real estate and construction as well as ?insolvency and restructuring. The chapter on ?customs and trade should also be consulted, as some litigation is conducted before the European courts. This chapter also refers to numerous lawyers who have made names for themselves in arbitration.

Handel und Haftung

Boom bei D&O-Streitigkeiten und Schiedsverfahren

Während die Aufarbeitung der Finanzkrise mit dem Heta-Prozesskomplex einen vorläufigen Höhepunkt erreichte, nehmen Organhaftungsstreitigkeiten unvermindert zu. Kartelle, dubiose Cum-Ex-Deals, missglückte Transaktionen: rasch stellen sich heute Haftungsfragen gegen (Ex-)Manager oder auch Berater. Aktuell größtes Beispiel ist der VW-Abgasskandal, wo zudem ein immenses Ausmaß an Produktrückrufen und Klagen von Kapitalanlegern hinzukommen – zuletzt sogar vom Land Bayern.

Immer mehr Unternehmen beschäftigen sich zudem mit Kartellschadensersatz. Das zeigt etwa die große Zahl von Unternehmen, die gegen das Zuckerkartell vorgehen. Eine neue EU-Richtlinie soll weitere Klagen erleichtern. Bei den Kanzleien steht auch der Ausbau ihrer Schiedspraxen auf der Tagsordnung. Der Bereich boomt weiterhin, auch wenn die Kritik insbesondere an Investitionsschutzverfahren im Zuge der TTIP-Debatte immens ist.

Kartellschadensersatz belebt die Praxen, Boutiquen im Aufwind

Im Umfeld des VW-Skandals sind die meisten bedeutenden Praxen involviert. Es ist einer der größten Produkthaftungsfälle der deutschen Geschichte. Hier ist es Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, die das Thema auch grenzüberschreitend bearbeitet.

Beim Thema Kartellschadensersatz stehen oft Kanzleien mit starken Kartellrechtspraxen in der ersten Reihe. Wer schon im Bußgeldverfahren berät, ist meist als Verteidiger für spätere Klagen gesetzt. Davon profitieren etwa Freshfields, Gleiss Lutz oder Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton. Auf der Klägerseite zeigen sich neue Akteure wie die US-Kanzlei Hausfeld, die nun ihr erstes deutsches Büro eröffnet hat.

In der Schiedsgerichtsbarkeit gilt vielen die Kanzlei Hanefeld aus Hamburg als Vorbild, die inzwischen auch international zu den präsentesten deutschen Akteuren zählt. Borris Hennecke Kneisel aus Köln und Dr. Philipp K. Wagner aus Berlin sind weitere Beispiele für den Trend zur Boutique, während die Marktführer Freshfields, CMS Hasche Sigle und Baker & McKenzie ihre Schlagkraft weiterhin aus großen Teams mit teils hoher Leverage ziehen.


Bei den folgenden Kanzleibewertungen verwenden wir wie viele Kanzleien hier den Begriff Konfliktlösung. Er beschreibt die Arbeit der Anwälte, die nicht nur in der Vertretung in Prozessen u. Schiedsverfahren selbst, sondern v.a. auch in der außergerichtlichen Konfliktbeilegung besteht. Die Schwerpunkte der Praxisgruppen sind meist Gesellschafts- u. Handelsrecht sowie Kapitalmarktrecht (analog oft Corporate u. Commercial Litigation genannt), die auch den Fokus der Unterkapitel ?Handel und Haftung und ?Gesellschaftsrechtliche Streitigkeiten bilden. Außerdem zählen je nach Kanzlei Anwälte unterschiedlicher, stark forensisch geprägter Gebiete wie die Produkthaftung zu diesen Praxisgruppen. V.a. das Vertriebsrecht ( ?Vertrieb/Handel/Logistik) ist oft in die Litigation-Abteilung integriert, wird hier aber in einem eigenen Kapitel behandelt. Daneben vertreten alle Kanzleien ihre Mandanten auch vor Gericht.

Das gilt insbes. für prozessual geprägte Materien wie ?Arbeitsrecht, ?Marken- u. Wettbewerbsrecht, ?Versicherungs- u. Haftungsrecht, ?Vergaberecht, ?Kartellrecht, ?Immobilien- u. Baurecht sowie ?Insolvenz und Restrukturierung. Zur Vertretung vor den europäischen Gerichten finden sich auch Informationen in den Kapiteln ?Brüssel u. ?Außenhandel. Im folgenden Kapitel wird zudem auf eine Reihe von Juristen verwiesen, die sich im Schiedswesen einen Namen gemacht haben.