JUVE Law Firm of the year

Banking and Finance

Investment pressure and technological innovations keep market moving

To begin with, it looked like it would be a successful year for the financial industry. In spite of all the problems, such as the increasingly dramatic woes in the Italian banking sector, or the ongoing, self-inflicted crisis at Deutsche Bank, the debt issues and credit markets developed well overall. A whole host of major issuers even ventured into secondary offerings and IPOs again: the number of IPOs was higher than it has been since 2007, the response of investors exceptionally strong. But after the surprise vote for Brexit, uncertainty set in and the markets noticeably cooled down.

The fact that there is no end in sight to the ECB low-interest policy intensified the pressure to invest further. As a result, even assets and securities that were considered hard to sell just a few years ago are finding buyers – quickly and at comparably high prices. This was particularly evident in what is one of the last major problem areas in the German banking sector left over from the financial downturn almost ten years ago: when NordLB sold a billion-euro portfolio of partly non-performing ship loans in summer 2016, PE house KKR and a sovereign wealth fund seized the opportunity – the first step by both major investors in plans to build up their own ship finance businesses.

Boundaries increasingly blurred

Even away from this specialist field, the boundaries between banks and other players in the financial sector are becoming increasingly blurred. More funds, for instance, are trying their hand in the market as creditors, thereby turning up the pressure on banks. The fintech sector is also growing in importance and offering a vast range of technology-based services that were traditionally the domain of the financial institutes themselves – from transfers to asset management.

Brexit plays into the hands of financial center Frankfurt

On top of all this, the banks have to battle with the ever stricter requirements of the regulatory authorities. Alongside the leading issue of recent years (equity ratios), the rules regarding risk monitoring, compliance and investor protection are constantly intensifying. Out of necessity, most of the institutes affected have warmed to the idea of responsibility transferring from the Federal Financial Supervisory Authority to the ECB; the European Banking Authority was even praised heavily by the regulatory experts at law firms.

And its importance, like that of Frankfurt as a banking city, is likely to rise in the future. It is almost unimaginable that London will continue to play exactly the same role as a financial metropolis once the UK leaves the EU. As well as Dublin, Paris and Luxembourg, Frankfurt is likely to profit from this, whether because of the relocation of key market players’ European headquarters – for instance after a possible merger of Deutsche Börse with the London Stock Exchange – or simply because of the foreseeable rise in demand for advice.


PfeilJUVE Law Firm of the year

JUVE Kanzlei des Jahres

Bank- und Finanzrecht

Anlagedruck und technische Innovationen sorgen für Bewegung

Zunächst sah alles nach einem erfolgreichen Jahr für die Finanzindustrie aus. Allen Problemen zum Trotz, etwa der immer dramatischeren Schieflage des italienischen Bankensektors oder der hausgemachten Dauerkrise der Deutschen Bank, entwickelten sich die Anleihen- und Kreditmärkte insgesamt gut. Eine Reihe großer Emittenten wagte sich sogar wieder an Kapitalerhöhungen oder Börsengänge: Die Zahl der IPOs war so hoch wie zuletzt 2007, die Resonanz der Investoren ausgesprochen stark. Nach dem überraschenden Brexit-Votum allerdings machte sich Unsicherheit breit, und die Märkte kühlten sich spürbar ab.

Dass kein Ende der EZB-Niedrigzinspolitik abzusehen ist, verschärft den Anlagedruck dennoch stetig weiter. Die Folge ist, dass selbst Assets und Wertpapiere, die noch vor wenigen Jahren als schwer verkäuflich galten, schnell und zu vergleichsweise hohen Preisen Abnehmer finden. Besonders deutlich zeigte sich dies auf einer der letzten großen Baustellen im deutschen Bankensektor, die aus der inzwischen fast zehn Jahre alten Finanzkrise noch übrig war: Als die NordLB im Sommer 2016 ein milliardenschweres Portfolio teils fauler Schiffskredite abstieß, griffen das Private-Equity-Haus KKR und ein Staatsfonds zu – der erste Schritt beider Großinvestoren beim geplanten Aufbau eines eigenen Schiffsfinanzierungsgeschäfts.

Grenzen verschwimmen zusehends

Auch jenseits dieses Spezialgebiets verwischen die Grenzen zwischen Banken und anderen Akteuren im Finanzsektor zusehends. So tummeln sich etwa immer mehr Fonds im Markt, die selbst als Kreditgeber auftreten und die Banken damit weiter unter Druck setzen. Immer größere Bedeutung gewinnt auch die Fintechbranche, die technikgestützt eine große Bandbreite von Dienstleistungen anbietet, die traditionell den Finanzinstituten selbst vorbehalten waren – von der Überweisung bis zur Vermögensverwaltung.

Brexit spielt Finanzstandort Frankfurt in die Hände

Zusätzlich haben die Banken mit immer strengeren Vorgaben der Aufsichtsbehörden zu kämpfen. Neben dem Leitthema der letzten Jahre, der Eigenkapitalquote, verschärfen sich auch die Regularien zu Risikokontrolle, Compliance und Anlegerschutz stetig. Mit dem Übergang der Zuständigkeiten von der BaFin auf die EZB haben sich die meisten davon betroffenen Institute notgedrungen angefreundet, die Europäische Bankenaufsicht erhält von den Aufsichtsrechtsexperten der Kanzleien sogar viel Lob.

Und ihre Bedeutung, wie auch die des Branchenstandorts Frankfurt, dürfte in Zukunft noch zunehmen. Dass London nach dem Ausstieg Großbritanniens aus der EU seine bisherige Rolle als Finanzmetropole uneingeschränkt weiterspielen wird, scheint kaum vorstellbar. Davon dürfte neben Dublin, Paris und Luxemburg auch Frankfurt profitieren, sei es durch die Verlegung der Europazentralen wichtiger Marktakteure – etwa nach einer möglichen Fusion der Deutschen Börse mit der London Stock Exchange –, sei es schlicht durch den absehbaren Zuwachs an Beratungsbedarf.


PfeilJUVE Kanzlei des Jahres