JUVE Law Firm of the year

Employment

Abundance of restructuring work despite booming job market

The economy is flourishing and Germany is witnessing almost full employment. So it sounds paradoxical when employment lawyers across the board report growing demand for restructuring advice. However, only in the rarest of cases are these reshuffles related to crises; rather, companies are reviewing their setups for operational reasons, and before they feel any financial constraints.

Once again, the legislators were very busy when it came to making employment relationships more flexible: after multiple amendments, the first draft bill on the regulation of temporary employment and service contracts finally found its way into the cabinet. This environment calls for experts in employment-related compliance whose forte is in reviewing external staff and the supply of temporary workers. Conflicts involving the protection of employee data are the order of the day here. This issue was fueled by the ECJ declaring the controversial Safe Harbor Agreement invalid. “Data protection is the new General Equal Treatment Act and antitrust law rolled into one,” lawyers prophesy, alluding to the fear of the now horrendous fines on which works councils increasingly base their arguments in negotiations. Individual disputes arising from data protection infringements were particularly frequent. The EU’s General Data Protection Regulation announced for 2018 should bring more legal certainty.

Professionalization among boutiques continues

The growing complexity of legal issues opened up a new client group for those firms that have previously focused on advice to employers and managers: works councils. And when it comes to the new rules for company pensions or pay regulations, it is no longer the typical employee representatives stepping up to bat. “It is clear that general works councils are increasingly operating at eye level with the employers,” one lawyer explains. This makes employer advisors increasingly interesting as well. This raises the question all the more of whether, in the years to come, employee firms will only be conducting individual proceedings, or whether they will be able to use existing networks (some of which stretch across Germany) to step up specialization.

On the employer side, many boutiques took this path long ago by growing: Kliemt & Vollstädt, Altenburg and Vangard are represented virtually nationwide; after launching in Düsseldorf in 2015, Pusch Wahlig has now opened in Frankfurt. This setup gives the firm visibility, but above all the manpower to cover a broad spectrum of fields with specialist advice.

These boutiques’ highly specialized international networks – some of which enjoy excellent reputations in the US – are putting the established large international firms under pressure. A prime example is Littler Global, with whom Vangard has been working in cooperation since 2015. And many are watching the development of the US employment boutique Ogletree Deakins Nash Smoak & Stewart very closely. “We cannot sit back and rest on our networks,” warned one lawyer from a large international firm.

The firms featured in this chapter specialize in employment advice to companies as employers. An overview of firms specializing in advice to employees can be found in the table “Firms recommended for advice to works councils, trade unions and employees”.


PfeilJUVE Law Firm of the year

JUVE Kanzlei des Jahres

Arbeitsrecht

Arbeitsmarkt boomt, trotzdem viel Restrukturierungsarbeit

Die Wirtschaft brummt und Deutschland kann nahezu Vollbeschäftigung verzeichnen. So klingt es fast schon paradox, wenn Arbeitsrechtler fast durch die Bank von steigender Nachfrage nach Restrukturierungsberatung berichten. Mit krisennahem Geschäft haben die Neuordnungen allerdings in den seltensten Fällen zu tun, vielmehr überprüfen die Unternehmen aus operativen Gründen ihre Aufstellung, und zwar bevor sie finanzielle Zwänge spüren.

Erneut war auch der Gesetzgeber in puncto Flexibilisierung von Arbeitsverhältnissen recht aktiv, der erste Referentenentwurf zur Regulierung von Leiharbeit und Werkverträgen fand schließlich nach mehreren Korrekturen seinen Weg ins Kabinett. In diesem Umfeld sind zunehmend arbeitsrechtliche Compliance-Experten gefragt, die sich mit der Überprüfung von Fremdpersonal und Arbeitnehmerüberlassung beschäftigen. Dabei sind Konflikte mit dem Schutz von Arbeitnehmerdaten an der Tagesordnung. Weiter befeuert wird das Thema, seitdem der EuGH das umstrittene Safe-Harbor-Abkommen für ungültig erklärt hat. „Datenschutz ist das neue AGG und das neue Kartellrecht“, unken Anwälte und spielen auf die Angst vor inzwischen horrenden Bußgeldern und die zunehmend darauf gestützte Argumentation in Verhandlungen seitens des Betriebsrats an. Gerade Individualstreitigkeiten, die sich auf datenschutzrechtliche Verstöße stützen, waren häufiger zu sehen. Rechtssicherheit soll die für 2018 angekündigte EU-Datenschutzgrundverordnung schaffen.

Boutiquen professionalisieren sich weiter

Die zunehmende Komplexität der Rechtsfragen erschloss einigen bisher auf die Arbeitgeber- und Führungskräfteberatung fokussierten Kanzleien zuletzt eine weitere Mandantengruppe: Betriebsräte. Auch bei den Neuregelungen der betrieblichen Altersversorgung oder von Vergütungsordnungen kommen häufig nicht mehr die typischen Arbeitnehmervertreter zum Zuge. „Man merkt, dass Gesamtbetriebsräte verstärkt auf Augenhöhe mit den Arbeitgebern agieren“, erklärt ein Anwalt. So werden für sie auch die Arbeitgeberberater interessanter. Umso mehr stellt sich die Frage, ob die Arbeitnehmerkanzleien im Laufe der kommenden Jahre nur noch Individualprozesse führen werden oder ob sie ihre zum Teil bundesweit bestehenden Netzwerke für eine stärkere inhaltliche Spezialisierung nutzen können.

Auf Arbeitgeberseite haben viele Boutiquen durch Wachstum diesen Weg längst beschritten. Kliemt & Vollstädt, Altenburg und Vangard sind nahezu bundesweit vertreten, zuletzt eröffnete Pusch Wahlig nach Düsseldorf 2015 nun auch in Frankfurt. Diese Aufstellung verleiht ihnen Präsenz, vor allem aber die personelle Schlagkraft, um einen breiten Fächer inhaltlicher Themen spezialisiert abdecken zu können.

Nicht zuletzt ihre hoch spezialisierten internationalen Netzwerke mit zum Teil sehr guter Reputation in den USA setzen die etablierten internationalen Großkanzleien unter Druck. Bestes Beispiel ist Littler Global, mit der Vangard seit 2015 kooperiert. Und auch die Entwicklung der US-amerikanischen Arbeitsrechtsboutique Ogletree Deakins Nash Smoak & Stewart beobachten viele mit Argusaugen. „Wir können uns auf unseren Netzwerken nicht ausruhen“, warnt ein Anwalt einer internationalen Großkanzlei.


Die folgenden Bewertungen behandeln Kanzleien, die einen Schwerpunkt in der arbeitsrechtlichen Beratung von Unternehmen als Arbeitgeber haben. Ein Überblick der auf Arbeitnehmerberatung spezialisierten Kanzleien findet sich unter  ‚Besonders empfohlene Kanzleien für die Beratung von Betriebsräten, Gewerkschaften und Arbeitnehmern‘.

 


PfeilJUVE Kanzlei des Jahres